Indiana Marriage FAQ

Helpful information for getting married in Indiana


Cost of License: The marriage license fee is $18.00-$20.00 for in-state residents and $60.00 for out-of-state residents. Personal checks not accepted.

Residency Requirements: If both partners are residents you may obtain your license from a City Clerk of your residence. If only one of you is a resident go to the City Clerk of that resident. In either circumstance, your license will be valid statewide. If neither partner are residents you must apply for your license in the county where the marriage will take place.

Waiting Period: No waiting period. You will receive your license immediately. You can marry immediately after receiving your license. As a general rule of thumb it is recommended that you obtain your license approximately one month prior to the wedding.

Age Requirement: You must be 18 years old or older to marry without parental consent. A birth certificate may be necessary to show proof of age. If either partner is under 18, parents or legal guardians must be present. If a parent can not be present, due to death, separation, divorce or other circumstances, proper evidence must be presented for verification. You will need a certified copy of your birth certificate. If you are under 16 you can not marry without a court order.

Blood Tests and Physical Exams: No blood test or physical exam is required, although women under the age of 50 must provide a completed State of Indiana Premarital Examinate Certificate obtained from a health clinic. These are available through your family doctor or any RediMed, StatCare, or other urgent care clinic.

Divorced and Widowed Applicants: If previously married, the date of divorce or date of spouse’s death must be provided. If the divorce or spouse’s death had taken place within the last 2 years, some counties require you to bring a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate. A copy of your divorce records or spouse’s death certificate can be ordered online.

When I get my Marriage License, am I married? No. Just because you have your marriage license does not mean you are officially married. You need to have a justice of the peace or a religious clergyman sign the document. On your wedding day, you’ll give your wedding officiant your marriage license, then after the ceremony, he or she will sign it and send it to the proper government agency for validation.

Who can perform the ceremony? Marriages may be performed by any member of the clergy (including a minister, priest, bishop, rabbi, and imam), a judge, a magistrate, a clerk of the circuit court, or a clerk or clerk-treasurer of a city or town.

How long is the License valid? License is valid for 60 days.
The license can only be used within the State of Indiana.

How Do I Legally Change My Name? Following your wedding ceremony, you will receive a marriage certificate, which is a piece of paper proving that you are legally married. This certificate will serve as evidence of your marriage, which you’ll need when you begin the process of notifying several government agencies about your name change, as well as any non-government institutions that you do business with (ie, banks, employers, credit cards, memberships, etc). Receipt of the marriage certificate varies from county to county. Some counties automatically mail you a copy of the certificate; in other counties, you must request copies. There may be additional fees involved.

Are proxy marriages legal? No, marriage by proxy is not allowed.

Are cousin marriages legal? Yes, cousin marriages are allowed. Cousins may marry as long as both are over the age of 65.

Are common law marriages legal? No, common-law marriages are not allowed.

Are same sex marriages legal? Yes, same-sex marriages are allowed.

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.



Delaware County:

Blackford County:

Jay County:

Randolph County:

Henry County:

Madison County:

Marion County:

Johnson County:

Hamilton County:

Grant County:

Howard County:

Hendricks County:

Hancock County: